The Vermont Cynic

Filed under Life Regular

The different diets

Advertisement

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Gluten-free, lactose-intolerant, vegan and Paleo.

The names of these diets are thrown around all the time, and they can all blend together if you don’t know the differences.

Here’s a quick cheat sheet:

Gluten-free: Gluten is a protein found in grains — wheat, barley and rye.

Those who are gluten-intolerant experience inflammation of the small intestine when gluten is consumed, according to WebMD.

Lactose-intolerant: Lactose is a sugar found in dairy products.

When lactase, an enzyme that is produced by the lining of the small intestine, isn’t present in large enough quantities in the small intestine, lactose intolerance is the result, according to the Mayo Clinic.

Vegan: Those who are vegan don’t eat any animalproducts or byproducts.

This includes meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products and honey.

Paleo: The Paleo, or Paleolithic diet, aims to mimic the way our ancestors ate.

Also called the “hunter-gatherer diet,” or “caveman diet,” this way of eating includes a lot of fruits, vegetables, lean meats, seafood, nuts and seeds, while excluding dairy, grains, processed food, sugars, legumes and starches, according to Robb Wolf’s “The Paleo Solution.”

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






The University of Vermont's Independent Voice Since 1883
The different diets