First-year senators sworn into SGA

Five first-year students were sworn into the Student Government Association (SGA) at the weekly SGA meeting on Tuesday, Sept. 14. The new senators are Robert Benner with 141 votes, Connor Burns with 88 votes, Zed Ballas with 73 votes, Alyssa Ravech with 71 votes and Zachary Malloy with 69 votes. All students were able to vote between Sept. 7-9, and those elected were announced shortly after, according to the SGA website. Voter participation numbers were down this year, with 310 voters and 13 candidates on the ballot as compared to last year, with 473 Voters and 20 candidates on the ballot, SGA Public Relations Chair Nick Monteforte said.