Presidential search committee takes shape


President Tom Sullivan delivers a speech at his final convocation as president.

Sawyer Loftus, Assistant Breaking News Editor

The search committee for the next president of UVM has been officially announced by the UVM board of trustees.

The newly selected committee was announced in a Sept. 10 email to the University community. The committee is comprised of 24 members and is co-chaired by David Daigle, the current chair of the board of trustees and Ron Lumbra, according to the email.

Sophomore Xavier Giddings and medical student Sidney Hilker will represent UVM’s student voice on the committee, according to the email. Giddings was selected from a pool of four undergraduate applicants, according to the email.

Hilker currently serves on the board of trustees as a student representative.

The committee is set to meet Sept. 11 at 3:00 pm in the Waterman Memorial Lounge, according to the email.

The UVM community is encouraged to share their views on what they would like to see in the next UVM president, according to the email.

Current UVM President Tom Sullivan announced his intent to step out of his role as president by the summer of 2019 in an Aug. 6 email to the UVM community.